Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#11324 - 08/30/03 12:18 AM Re: Correct Latin [Re: Jack_Bauer]
Helena Offline

Loc: Texas
I studied Latin for 8 years. In the phrase "Ave Satanas", the "Ave" is the second person singular imperative.

The usage of the word Satanas is both simple and complex. Satanas is an indeclinable word since it comes from the Hebrew word for adversary. When speaking one language and tossing in words from another, one does not decline the foreign word into one's own language. It would corrupt the word and its original use and meaning. For example if you were to use a word from a language other than English in the past tense - you would not use an -ed at the end of the word.

An interesting bit for any of you who are would like to know some history about how the word Satan came to mean what it does today to so many people. Satanas was a word used in the Greek New Testament quite frequently. Interestingly enough in each context it actually meant adversary, or some thwarting force of men or circumstance. It was used so frequently to mean this that people began to personify the word in later times to mean an actual physical adversary which was named Satanas or Satan.

So think for example if every time you said the phrase "oh shit" and if this was written in a historical text, what would people thousands of years from now think about that? Would they think that we prayed to this almightly thing, called "shit" and asked for respite when awful things happened upon us? Would they think that we thought by invoking this being's name saying "oh shit", an invocation used in the direst of circumstances, it would cease our problems and distress? Of course they would. And thus Satan was born.

HS!
Hecate

Edited by Hecate (09/01/03 06:02 PM)

#11325 - 08/30/03 12:30 AM Re: Correct Latin [Re: Helena]
Rev_Malebranche Offline
CoS Reverend

Loc: Oregon
Extremely interesting explanation. Thank you!

#11326 - 08/30/03 04:15 AM Re: Correct Latin [Re: Helena]