Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#338447 - 07/05/08 02:54 PM Psychology question
Emerald Offline

Loc: St. Petersburg, FL
Is there an official stance on the study of psychology? I see a lot of attention paid to the arts, sciences, mathematics and so on but nothing with any of the more "social studies". I would think that the study of psychology would give insight into the animalistic nature of man and therefore be a boon in one's path as it regards to Satanism. I myself am about to receive my bachelor's in psychology within the next six months.

As a note, I am very new to the path. I have read The Satanic Witch and I am working through the Satanic Bible at this point. Thank you in advance to all who answer this thread.

#338453 - 07/05/08 03:20 PM Re: Psychology question [Re: Emerald]
Fnord Offline

Loc: Texas
Hello

I certainly wouldn't think it a study inappropriate to Satanism at all. In fact, I would think that an understanding of psychology would, as you've alluded to, help to facilitate the practice of lesser magic.

#338456 - 07/05/08 03:29 PM Re: Psychology question [Re: Emerald]
The_Lightning Offline

Loc: Israel
Quote:
Is there an official stance on the study of psychology?

When they say that "Satanism requires study" they don't mean "learn your scriptures"- they mean that being an efficient and powerful being requires actively gaining knowledge about the world you live in.

There are no sacred cows in Satanism, and therefore no kind of knowledge one should stay away from, according to it.
Also, Satanism is about rational hedonism- so if you find acquiring knowledge in some field to be profitable for you- you should defiantly peruse it!

Anyhow, I know quite a handful of Satanists who study psychology/sociology.
I myself am a psychology student, and find the subject extremely interesting and very valuable.
Lesser magic is, after all, about knowing the minds of people around you and how they function.

Edited by The_Lightning (07/05/08 03:31 PM)