Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#427117 - 07/21/10 12:59 PM Yet another newbie introduction
DanielM Offline

Loc: Kintuhkee, Yew-Ess-Ay
All right, folks, gather 'round and listen to another newbie blather ...

My name is Danny, and I'm new to Satanism. I'd certainly heard of Anton LaVey and the Church of Satan before, but only had the barest idea of what the philosophy was really all about. I've had a copy of The Satanic Bible for about twenty-five years, but had never bothered to give it more than a casual glance -- I originally bought it while in college for the shock value, something that I could leave lying around the dorm room to make visitors' eyebrows rise.

Recently I was moving some stuff around, stumbled across it, and really read it for the first time. My reactions were very strong, deep, and consistent. Frequently I found myself reacting, "that's right," "well said," "this is for me," etc.

A bit more about my background. I grew up in the Bible Belt, but my family was never more than casually Christian -- a circumstance for which I'm grateful having seen firsthand how much damage Christianity does to those who seriously embrace it. My parents were the type who believed in God, Jesus, and so on, but who also (when they bothered to think about it at all) resolved to "get serious someday" (but not this week). I was dragged off to Sunday school and church every week until I was about six out of social obligation on their part, at which point I suppose they decided they were sick of the whole thing and stopped going. While in college I decided I'd better make up my mind on the whole issue one way or another. I examined Christianity and found that it fell apart under close examination, and I became an atheist.