Topic Options
#401225 - 11/08/09 02:27 PM Satanism Without Magic?
M.D. Roche Offline
Banned

Loc: Albany, New York
Hello, my name is Matt and I am new to Satanism (technically, anyway).

Ever since I was a child I have been an Atheist/Individualist/Humanist with a strong and dark anti-Christian edge. I've known of Anton LaVey and The Church of Satan for a while, but I was too lazy to actually learn about it; until a few weeks ago, when my friend bought me a copy of The Satanic Bible as a gift. It was exciting to discover how much I could relate to the text. In a way, it helped me make sense of who I am.

However, one big aspect of Satanism that I just cannot swallow is the element of magic and ritual. While I find it very interesting, the whole concept of magic just seems too far-fetched for my liking.

My question is this: Is it right to call oneself a Satanist, even though they do not practice the magic aspect of it?

Thank you!

#401234 - 11/08/09 04:12 PM Re: Satanism Without Magic? [Re: M.D. Roche]
Nemo Offline
CoS Magister

Loc: Point Nemo s48:52:31:748, w123...
Quote:
My question is this: Is it right to call oneself a Satanist, even though they do not practice the magic aspect of it?

Yes.

Magic, both Lesser and Greater, is optional, and not a requirement.

This follows the dictum, "Indulgence not Compulsion." wink

#401235 - 11/08/09 04:25 PM Re: Satanism Without Magic? [Re: M.D. Roche]
Magister_Lang Offline

CoS Magister

Loc: I-BLISS!
Simply put........