Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#469220 - 02/04/12 01:15 PM Satanism as a Philosophy vs. Satanism as a Religion (capital R)
Samyaza Offline

First off, the introduction.

I am a new poster to LttD, though, I've been a long time non-registered lurker.

In college I studied just about every major world religion, trying to find out what was right. I never really thought about religions growing up. I studied Judaism, Buddhism, Taoism, Shintoism, Christianity, Islam, and about 12 other 'isms' that I don't need to go into here. Long story short, none made sense to me. Well, I take that back, one did. Atheism.

The only thing that made sense is that we are creatures, just like everything else on the planet, no different (well, maybe a few more brain cells, but that's about it) than any of the other beasts on the Earth.

I have known about the Church of Satan since my days in college, but I never gave it much thought, as the ritualistic trappings seemed to me to be absolutely ridiculous. There's having disdain for organised religion, and then there's carrying it to an extreme, and I felt the CoS was carrying it to an extreme. Then, I started reading these boards, seeing what people were actually like. These all were highly intelligent people, people who were, for the lack of a better word, atheists.

This is my question. To you, is Satanism a Philosophy, or is it a Religion? There is a significant difference. The way that I see it is that it HAS to be a philosophy, that is a way of looking at the world, and humanity as a whole. And, if it is truly a philosphy, then why the 'magic'?

Magic can't exist in a truly rational world. There may be some things we have yet to understand, but nothing that can not currently be explained by science (with the few exceptions of what lies in the singularity of a black hole, and how the quantum forces align with gravity, among others).