Topic Options
#498469 - 03/25/15 12:58 AM Introduction
Machiavel Offline

Loc: Ontario, Canada
Hi, I'm Trevor. I've been lurking this forum on and off for a few years now and figured it was time to introduce myself, share my thoughts and opinions, learn as much as I can and see where it goes.

I'm currently studying accounting online through a university in Canada and work at a restaurant for a living. I enjoy a wide variety of music, but mostly stick to metal and classical. My favourite composers/bands include Megadeth, Slayer, Behemoth, Gorgoroth, Wagner, Mussorgsky, Camille Saint-Saens, Vivaldi and Beethoven.

I'm sure that sounds a bit strange... metal and classical, right? I can honestly say I love elements of both. I'm tempted to say "to each their own" but that might imply that I'm of the opinion that music is an entirely subjective experience, with no inherent objective value. Not sure where I stand on that, but I'm hoping Ayn Rand's "Romantic Manifesto" provides some food for thought that might help me reach a conclusion.

I play piano at a grade 8 (RCM) level along with some amateur dabbling in guitar and violin.

Wow, devoted a lot more text to music than I thought I would. I suppose it would suffice to say I highly value its contribution to my life, lol.

I read TSB in grade 12, and since then have read at least 1 book by each of the authors mentioned in the introduction by Magus Peter Gilmore, with the exception of "Redbeard." (Which, correct me if I'm wrong, only has the one book accredited to him.)

I found TSB immensely inspiring, and upon reading it in its entirety, immediately identified with LaVeyan Satanism. Since then I have ceased to identify myself as a LaVeyan Satanist, for a variety of reasons but chief among them:

a) I want to know everything I can about said religion and fully understand it to the best of my ability before identifying with it, and