Topic Options
#498486 - Yesterday at 01:15 PM Some questions about addictions/compulsions?
AlwaysLearning Offline

Hello, I am relatively new to learning about Satanism. I have read the Satanic Bible and was very impressed with what I read. I don't know if it is necessarily for me, but I try to be as informed as I can about religions, so that I do not fall into that group of people who unnecessarily make false assumptions about others.

A little background about me. I grew up in an ultra conservative protestant Xian home. My father was on the church board, me and me younger siblings were homeschooled with a Christian curriculum, you get the picture. I did the cliche thing of getting too far into partying as soon as I had any freedom and ended up at 18 in rehab for substance abuse disorder, an eating disorder, and major depressive disorder. So anyways, I was kind of wondering what the general attitude of the Church of Satan is towards addictions and the treatment thereof.

I have read about the indulgence not compulsion idea, and I do quite appreciate that, as it is how I have learned to get some of my compulsions under control. However, with others I have found even the slightest indulgence sends me over the edge. Also, I would be interested what Satanism thinks of the 12 steps programs and their emphasis on a "higher power" (When I have participated I have used the group or nature as my higher power). Would I be considered a weak person by other satanists for struggling with these things? (I don't mean to be rude or assuming if it comes off that way, I've dealt with quite a few of the "just pray it away" Xians)